Italian Dinner, Gluten Free!

Greysen Paige
2 min readMay 26, 2024
AI-Generated Art by Greysen

On our third trip to Italy, we decided to cook with these little old ladies we encountered while walking around. They instantly adored you; how could they not? You helped them carry groceries inside their old classic Italian home. They didn’t speak any English, but that didn’t stop you. We both always just want to help.

This earned us a special place at their table. I was thrilled that they were going to make Gluten-Free pasta so, for once, I wouldn’t have to disappoint them by turning down the offer of a meal. The pain of previously always feeling like an outcast for having Celiac disease is difficult for me to handle, but you make sure I never feel like an imposition. When we said we would join them, their eyes lit up! They were so excited to have company.

They told us stories for hours. Telling us all about their lives and sharing their recipes. We were in awe of them; they were just in love with how cute we were. I mentioned in passing that my family was from Naples, and they asked for my family name. I told them, “Perrotta!”. All 3 of them had a face of surprise and delight. One of them, Filomena, was so excited! She was a Perrotta from Naples! So, we agreed we must be family, and forevermore, we are.

We continued cooking, and as we went to sit down, I began to sweat. I was so nervous that I would react to the food and feel sick so far…

--

--

Greysen Paige

He/Him 🔵 • Executive @ Firebrand 💼 • Formerly @ Apple📱 & Google 🔎 • Eco-Warrior 🌍 • LGBTQIA+ 🏳️‍🌈 •